Don’t Worry

September 21, 2008

Don’t Worry Be Happy

Luke 12:22-23

“Then Jesus said to his disciples: Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat: or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes.”

Sometimes I think that I am a professional worrier, but lately I’ve had a low tolerance for it. Worry I think has been the cause of different health issues: it exhausts me but keeps me from sleeping, it gets my energy levels revved up but keeps me from exercising, and it gets my anxiety levels up but keeps me from fixing the problems. I am sick of worry so much and I am ready to do something about it. For the rest of this month and for the whole month of October I am going to study how break my worry habit. I’ve heard, many times, that it take thirty days to institute a new habit. Since I have practiced worrying for about 15 years, I figured I could take a little over a month to study how not to worry so much.

Luke 12:22-34 is titled Replacing worry with faith. After reading this scripture I have a new understanding about worrying. Jesus tells his disciples not to worry about food or clothes. Food and clothes are basic necessities; you need those to live. If you are not supposed to worry about that, then I guess you are not supposed to worry about anything. Also I learned that each and every life and body is important to God. That life is not the same as our bodies. Starvation does not necessarily kill the body, and killing the body does not kill the life that body holds. Luke 12:24,”Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them”. You mean to tell me that if I do not over stuff my cabinets, freezer and belly God will still feed me.

Worrying serves no purpose but it deceives you into thinking that is the way you accomplish you goals. You worry about what you are going to eat, God feeds you, and worry gets the credit. So worry is like an addictive drug. You try it, it makes you feel better so you try it again until it convinces you that you will die without it, and then it becomes painfully obvious that it no longer produces anything positive, but it is too late your hooked on it. When you try to stop using you will go through withdrawal: panic attacks, headache, upset stomach, high blood pressure, depression, etc…

Here a little commentary on Luke12:1-21. In Luke 12:1-9 Jesus addresses a crowd of people and gives them life lessons on how to avoid becoming a hypocrite: remember that everything you do and say will eventually be found out, do not be afraid of murders because they can only kill the body, God loves you and knows you well, and don’t worry about having to defend yourself because the holy spirit will speak for you. In Luke 12:13-15 a man in the crowd ask Jesus, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me”. Jesus refuses to act as a judge but warns them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance if his possessions”. He further illustrate his point by telling a parable about a rich man who tears down his barn so that he can store more crops and live and easy life later on, but he ending up dying that night. Luke 12:21″This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God”. It was tempting for me to think that God punishes us with death and hell if we are faithfulness, but now I have a new understanding. A life filled with hypocrisy, greed and worry is a very difficult and joyless one. Jesus says he came that we can have a full life with only a few burdens. Jesus did not come to show us all of our sins to provoke guilt and mindless submission, but to give us an alternative lifestyle and to help us discover the best life experience possible. If you do worry or sin, it probably means you are human and God forgives like no one else. He wants to be close to you because he loves you and he wants to protect you like any good father would. So don’t worry about worrying, just try to learn what faith looks like and imitate. Better yet get to know yourself through daily meditation and you will discover the faithful and joyful soul you already posses.


2 Responses to “Don’t Worry”

  1. Tom Humes Says:

    Nice Site layout for your blog. I am looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes


  2. Wonder what a “worrywart” is and if you truly are one?

    The job of worry is to anticipate danger before it arises and identify possible perils, to come up with ways to lessen the risks, and to rehearse what you plan to do. Worrywarts get stuck in identifying danger as they immerse themselves in the dread associated with the threat, which may be real or, more likely, imagined. They spin out an endless loop of melodrama, blowing everything out of proportion. “What if I have a heart attack?” “What if there is an earthquake?” “What if someone breaks in when I’m asleep?”
    While worrywarts insist worrying is helpful, little is solved. Stuck in thinking ruts, they stop living in the here and now–the present moment. Worrywarting is torment–a kind of self-imposed purgatory that makes you feel bad, stresses you out, and wastes precious moments of your life.
    Worse yet, worry begets more worry, setting into motion a vicious circle of frightening thoughts and anxious response. It is self-perpetuating, pushing into greater anxiety and more worry. Allowed to continue unchecked, chronic worry can evolve into panic attacks and, in extreme cases, agoraphobia, which is a paralyzing fear of having a panic attack, especially in public. It can be so severe that, in the worst cases, the sufferer can’t leave home.
    For how to stop worrywarting and start worrying smart, visit my site.

Leave a Reply

