Awakening of the Poetic Soul

April 7, 2009

I started writing poetry in 7th grade and fell in love with it instantly. As a kid I love books so I was excited when my teacher gave out poetry assignments and I learned that I had some talent. Back then when I wrote poetry it was effortless; it was almost like being possessed by a voice that had to express itself through my writing. A lot of times after I finished writing I would read the poem out loud as if I was reading it for the first time.

I miss those days. A poem would hit me, words would pour out and I’d have to get something to write quickly on before I lost it. I did not edit my words; they came out powerful with the proper rhyme and rhythm. I was not shy to share my poems but I was not quick to share them either. I’d only share them with people who wanted to hear them. People that I thought would identify with the intention behind words. My mother is a writer to so she appreciated my poems, but she would limit me; I could only read her 2 poem at a time because a lot of my poems were dark and depressing. The best compliment she ever gave me was when she did not believe that I wrote a poem myself.

Then I went to college and I was determined to do my best. My motto became “If you have time to read you have time to study.” I did not allow myself the pleasure of reading for fun. I did not realize that I was removing inspiration and creative development from my life with that rule. Soon my life became too busy to write. So when I tried to pick up the pen again the words always disappointed me and I thought I’d lost my skill. About 2 years ago I promised myself to let go of the judgment and let myself learn how to write again. I started with poems. Instead of getting my family a 5 dollar card I starting writing poems for them and giving that as gifts. Now I have to work and writing, but I found that as long as my heart connects to the subject the words come.

 

Related Links:

Grandpa Jazz

New You Celebrate Your Talents

2 Responses to “Awakening of the Poetic Soul”


  1. Hi, cool post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll probably be subscribing to your blog. Keep up great writing

  2. LL&L Says:

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

